Uber: Information Not Deleted From Cloud

Brignull's "Privacy Zuckering" Forced Action Nagging Sneaking

Culprit

Uber App

Found

1 month ago


When the user tries to delete the app, Uber warns that while the app will delete all data on the phone, it will keep data in the cloud. This is vague, but concerning if the user values their online privacy. If the user doesn’t read the text or reads it quickly, they may not notice that their data will be kept in the cloud.

Latest examples found

Yelp: Disguised Ads

January 20, 2018

Yahoo: Confusing Unsubscribe

September 12, 2018